Three Ways to Make Those Dull Tasks Enjoyable

You might even look forward to them!

Jill Fischer
Crow’s Feet
4 min readMay 29, 2024

--

Kitchen sink full of dirty dishes
Photo from IStock

I’m 67, but my “inner whiner” is still alive and well, especially when it comes to doing boring chores.

Since these tasks take a fair amount of time and life energy, I’m exploring ways to make them fun. That’s my priority these days. I want my life to be as joyful as possible, no matter what I’m doing.

Elderhood will do that to you. Time is short. You don’t know how long you have. Better enjoy it now.

A few things I’ve accepted without protest, like brushing and flossing my teeth. No moaning and groaning. I got over that long ago. I just do it. Every day.

I also make my bed without grumbling. It’s a given.

But there are other daily or weekly chores that make me resentful and irritated.

That whiney part of me says, “Not again!!! I did that yesterday!”

I’m playing with ways to turn that around.

Coming to terms with the relentless repetition

I find it helps to remind myself that there’s a scientific law at work that will never go away.

You may know about it. It’s summed up like this: “The universe is in a state of entropy.

What does that mean, exactly? What is entropy? And what does it have to do with my boring chores?

Entropy: lack of order or predictability; gradual decline into disorder

In other words, everything in this world is endlessly moving toward disorder and chaos. It’s the way the cookie crumbles, so to speak.

Dust bunnies are living proof. They are made of hair, lint, flakes of dead skin, and a few other random floaty things. Definitely evidence of entropy. (Even our bodies are in a state of entropy — all those flakes of dead skin!)

Dirty dishes are more proof. Every time I turn around, they’re scattered across my previously tidy kitchen.

The overgrown yard. Invading weeds. Wildness descending. Entropy!

Papers piling up, creating their own special paper chaos. More entropy!

When I remind myself that entropy is at work, it helps me accept the repetitive nature of these things. I mean, I don’t get irritated at gravity when something falls. Maybe I can accept entropy, too. It’s just a thing that has to be dealt with — repeatedly.

No one is spared. You may see neighbors’ lawns that are impeccable or whose houses are neat as a pin. But they’re still engaged in an ongoing battle with entropy. They’ve just found a way to win, at least momentarily.

The question is, are they fighting that battle with gritted teeth, or are they finding joy in the process?

To me, life is too short for gritted teeth! I’ve been experimenting with ways to sweeten these tasks and even enjoy them.

Take emptying the dishwasher. (Groan. All those dishes that need sorting and putting away, day after day.)

Step One: Incline the mind toward joy

I start with something I learned from James Baraz, author of Awakening Joy: Ten Steps To Happiness. He suggests when facing one of these tasks, to say to yourself, “Now I get to empty the dishwasher!” as though it’s the most fun thing you’ll do that day. It tricks your brain into an expectation of enjoyment before you even get started!

The Buddhists call this “inclining the mind towards joy.” Where we focus our mind has a huge impact on our experience. And we have more choice than we usually realize.

Of course, the first step is noticing the irritability or negativity. The next step is to choose to direct our attention to something positive. A small shift can make a huge difference to our happiness level.

Step Two: Savoring the experience

Then, I do a version of a joy practice called “savoring.” It’s usually suggested for getting the most out of a pleasurable experience, like a beautiful sunset.

The idea is to let yourself soak it in for 15 to 20 seconds. This will “install” the good feelings and create a sense of well-being.

While my boring task is not a beautiful sunset, I focus on the sensations that go with unloading the dishwasher:

  • the feeling of the plates and silverware on my skin
  • the heft of their weight as I lift them
  • the sounds they make as they clunk together
  • the way my body feels as I lean over or reach up to put things in cupboards, and the contact of my feet in touch with the ground.

It actually becomes quite enjoyable!

3. Thoughts of gratitude

Another joy practice is gratitude, which can make a huge difference to how I feel. While doing it, I think of all the things I appreciate related to the task.

  • I’m grateful to have a dishwasher.
  • I’m grateful to have water.
  • I’m grateful for opposable thumbs that help me pick stuff up.
  • I’m grateful that I can move in all the ways needed to get the job done.
  • I’m grateful that my brain can sort and organize the silverware.

This list can go on and on. The cool thing is that it completely transforms the resentful feelings that often accompany these boring chores.

Voila! I’ve finished the job, and it feels like an enjoyable part of my day!

Find joy in whatever you do

Once you start to shift your focus, you discover that joy and appreciation are everywhere. They’re just waiting to be noticed. The only hurdle is remembering to shift your focus!

If you do, though, a mundane day can become a glistening jewel of sweetness. That’s a life worth living!

Want to add more joy to your life? Click here to request Ten Simple Things You Can Do Today to Boost Your Joy

--

--