Top Retirement Money Withdrawal Method — Is the Dynamic Way Better?

Comparing 6 retirement (or work-optional) distribution strategies and figuring out which is best given your priorities

Opher Ganel
Crow’s Feet

--

I hate the word “retirement.”

It isn’t that I have anything against people who’ve worked multiple decades being able to downshift a gear or two.

My pet peeve here is that even after spending nearly a quarter century studying (all the way to my physics PhD), 16 years working in academic research, two years in corporate America, and 12 years as a self-employed consultant, I have no desire to sit on the couch and wait to die.

Not me.

No, thank you very much.

Like many others, what I’m looking forward to (in another 4–5 years) is getting to my “work-optional” phase of life.

Truth be told, I’m already sort of there, at least if we’d downgrade our lifestyle to what it was a decade or so ago.

However, if we want to enjoy all the things on our lists, it’ll take those 4–5 additional years.

--

--

Opher Ganel
Crow’s Feet

Consultant | systems engineer | physicist | writer | avid reader | amateur photographer. I write about personal finance from an often contrarian point of view.