Crow’s Feet Writing Prompt #51

Valentine’s Day

Spend it with seven children and you will be reminded it’s a Hallmark Holiday and not a romantic one

Catherine Oceano
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readFeb 20, 2024

--

Two faces appear in the photo. Both are seniors with grey hair and both are smiling.
Decades after meeting we are still here — Photo credit: author

We spent Valentine’s Day this year with our daughter, her partner, and their seven children. Very romantic. I made red jello with whipping cream as a special treat. They normally only have dessert on Friday nights when they sit down and watch a family movie together.

They are creatures of habit and family tradition.

My husband and I have never really been aficionados of Valentine’s Day. When we were young we were always broke so buying flowers seemed an expensive thing to do especially on holidays when prices get inflated. I’d way prefer to wait a few weeks and pick up a small bunch of tulips or daffodils. They bring me more joy anyway.

Going out for dinner was too expensive when we were first together and I was a student and he made minimum wage. Later all those children got in the way of dates.

The grandchildren brought home the Valentines they had been given at school. There are no longer very many children who make their own like back in the old days. The times when I purchased reams of pink and red construction paper and white doilies so my kids could cut them into…

--

--

Catherine Oceano
Crow’s Feet

old but not dead, mother, partner, grandmother, writer, Canadian Become a Medium member and support great writers like me.