Visitations from the Other Side

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readOct 11, 2021

--

Have strange things happened to you when a loved one has passed?

Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

As I’ve gotten older, I have lost many loved ones. Their absences have been very upsetting for me, but I’ve also noticed that unusual things have happened with their departures.

Have you ever had a visitation from the other side? Many of us have experienced unusual phenomena after someone has passed away. Maybe your loved one messed with your electricity. Perhaps the lights in your home have flickered for no apparent reason. Some people claim to have smelled perfume or another scent, and others cite that a precious object has been moved.

Here are a few unusual things that have happened to me.

Most recently, I lost a good friend of mine from my theater class. He was brilliant, creative, and funny. His wife claimed that he came to visit her in a dream, unsure if he should transition to the other side, or stay in his limbo state. In our conversation, I asked her to tell him to come and visit me as well.

He did.

This morning, when I got up to do some writing, I noticed that my computer keyboard cover was missing. It’s a thin plastic sheet that protects my laptop from random spills of coffee, food particles, and occasional insect droppings.

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.