What If It Became Groovy to Get Old?

Being a senior is so cool!

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

--

I love looking old! Selfie photo illustration by Mary McGrath

As I’ve aged, the media always reminds me how old I am. It doesn’t matter if it’s a magazine, newspaper website, or television, there are always ads about the ravages of aging.

Whether it’s about getting rid of wrinkles, new treatments for my hair, how to lose my belly fat, or improving my memory, the ads are incessant, reminding me of my deficiencies and how I should spend my time and money to make them go away.

What if it became groovy to get old? Can you imagine aspiring to be wrinkled, slow, and worn out? Here are some products that I could imagine.

Oldish — A topical cream, if used twice a day, will guarantee you two liver spots a month. Look old and wise, like your elders without having to live another fifty years.

Gray Today- Tired of your natural hair color? You don’t have to put up with it anymore. Gray Today is a special formula designed by doctors over 60 to help strip away your natural hair color so that you can look old, bold, and beautiful.

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.