Lifestyle

What the Heck Do You Want To Do with the Rest of Your Life?

A question worth pondering

Kris Downey
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readApr 15, 2021

--

Photo by Breana Panaguiton on Unsplash

A friend’s husband posed this question to her recently. She wasn’t sure of her answer. That’s how I felt when she asked me. What the heck do I want to do with the rest of my life?

This question feels different in my sixth decade than it did in any of my earlier decades. That feeling of plenty of time doesn’t ring so true at this point in my chronology.

My Hubs is in his seventh decade and when I asked him this question he lit right up. He’s always had that you-only-live-once attitude coupled with a laissez-faire view of economics.

He’s been using the you-only-live-once rationale on me our entire married life. It usually brings an eye-roll from me, especially when it’s in support of his latest plan to replace a perfectly good vehicle with a newer perfectly good vehicle.

I’m also the number cruncher in this family so my eye roll is quickly followed with a balance sheet, a net worth statement, and a Profit and Loss statement. The P&L clearly shows the L we incurred with his last vehicle replacement plan.

He wants that feeling of adventure back in our lives.

--

--

Kris Downey
Crow’s Feet

I’m a woman who pays attention and enjoys sharing the absurd things I notice. My humor essay collection and less-humorous memoir are in the works..