What Women Over Sixty Look for in a Man

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet
Published in
15 min readJun 2, 2021

--

Photo by Fadi Xd on Unsplash

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Oh. Sorry. I needed that.

Okay so this isn’t for ALL of us over sixty, but at least a few. Okay okay, me. Still.

I have a dear friend who is, at 72, a serial monogamist.

That’s not an oxymoron. (She might be a moron but not on oxy. That I know, at least) She’s like another buddy of mine with whom I shared the occasional speaker’s panel. She was fond of saying, “No really. I LIKE men. I like men a lot. Hell, I’ve married three of them.”

So goes it for another buddy, who is hard at work on her fourth. Or is it her fifth? She’s 68, has married some extremely rich, VERY eccentric and later incredibly dangerous (as in, seriously brain-addled) people, has brought up her own and other men’s kids. One of them set out to murder her.

No. Seriously. Box of chocolates; you never know what you’re gonna get.

Those folks liked being married. My hat is off to them, and to their patience and perseverance. In the third case, this lovely woman regularly posts photos of the huge bouquets of flowers her latest love bequeaths her. As I have written elsewhere, I can’t possibly relate. I am not the girl who gets flowers. I have ever been the girl that men practice on and talk to about the girls they give the flowers…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.