When I Die, I Want To Come Back as One Of My Wife’s Chickens

Those fowl have it pretty good

Don Denoncourt
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readJul 7, 2024

--

My wife’s chicken’s daily Fruit and Nut tray
The chicken’s daily Fruit and Nut tray, Photo by Author

The photo of the daily fruit and nut tray explains it all: My wife loves her chickens.

We moved to 11 acres in the country six years ago so she could have chickens. We let them free-range every morning.

As my wife walks down to the coop, those fowl will drag their beaks across the chicken wire. They look like prisoners banking metal cups against bars to complain.

My wife then does the daily poop walk

This is when she cleans up dumps from our three large dogs. The chickens, dogs, and our blind cat follow her around the yard.

One of our German Shepherd Dogs enjoying the flock.
One of our German Shepherd Dogs enjoying the flock, Photo by Author

I follow too because it is pleasant outside and we can talk without screens, my remote work, or my wife’s quilting impeding conversation.

Once the poop walk is done, those fowl scurry up to the porch waiting for their daily fruit-and-nut tray. The article photo included some scrambled eggs. That’s kind of cannibalistic, but the protein is good for them (I’m told).

--

--

Don Denoncourt
Crow’s Feet

An over-60 programmer that loves martial arts, fitness, and writing. A past full-time writer who published several books and hundreds of tech articles.