When My Ripe Old Age Overtook My Vibrant Youthful Self

Do you like the changes age makes on us when we’re not looking?

Richard Armstrong
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by MART PRODUCTION from Pexels

Yesterday I turned the page to a new chapter in my life’s book. It’s frightening and enjoyable at the same time. I hit some turbulence on my life’s journey.

Here’s how my touch with reality hit home to me

We had friends from out of state visiting us. It was so enjoyable. We took them to a couple of places they’ve never seen. It was the highlight of the week.

Then last week, we accepted our neighbor’s invite to a cookout at their place. Lots of neighbors there. Most I did not know.

At this party, my younger me crashed into the older me. I became timid, shy; never my attributes. Walking home, I felt the switch had flipped my life into a new chapter.

This chapter is old and out of touch. The younger me was outgoing. It was when I relished meeting people I didn’t know and gaining new friends. Today, not so much.

Growing old into my late seventies is both rewarding and tragic at the same time. I’m not the man I used to be. One of my granddaughters told me “Grandpa, you are better than most men at your age.” Bless her heart.

--

--

Richard Armstrong
Crow’s Feet

An Intentional octogenarian optimist. Your past is not a prophet, at best; it is only a teacher. https://relentless-creator-1966.ck.page/df7f1ab146.