When The Foundation Cracks

Boomers need more than Krazy glue to keep it together.

🇳🇴Annelie
Crow’s Feet

--

Woman walking on a country path, wearing a red shirt and a back pack. She holds a dog on a leach.
Author Annelie’s photo, taken by Annelie on a nature walk.

“Remember, only old houses need support”, said my Mom, while she gestured to my young self that I should remove the elbows, supporting my head, from the dinner table.

Last summer I went to visit family and friends in Norway. One morning, staying at my sister’s house, she was running out of eggs. She invited me to walk with her to a farm and buy more.

Excited for the walk ahead, we donned hiking boots and backpacks.

Enjoying the country path and the sweet air of summer, my heart was stirred with treasured memories from my childhood.

Between sand and gravel, the rocky roads had scattered colorful wildflowers. I was in awe of how nature continues to embrace the flora of this blessed land; protecting it from the harsh, cold elements of Norwegian winters.

The sun was shining through the crowns of massive pine and oak trees. And it shone through my favorite birch trees, standing proud with their beautiful white and black trunks. These trees do not grow well in my planting zone in Vero Beach, Florida.

We walked about four miles to the egg farm. Then we walked back home.

--

--

🇳🇴Annelie
Crow’s Feet

Annelie is a nurse who promotes health literacy through writing stories for Boomers. With health in our back pocket, we can create new beginnings after age 65.