When the Ghost Came Back Home to Sacramento Street

Reflections of a widow . . . who married a widower

FranMorelandJohns
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readMar 22, 2024

--

Google photo on various real estate sites

I had a tenuous relationship at best with the woman whose widower I happily married.

Judith Clancy was a hard act to follow. Before she died, of pancreatic cancer at just 56, she had been an artist’s model for Moses Soyer and other noted New York painters, briefly a ballet dancer, an illustrator for The New Yorker and for Peter Mayle’s A Year in Provence and Toujours Provence. A celebrated artist in her own right, with exhibitions in San Francisco and Paris.

She was tall and glamorous, a gourmet cook, widely admired teacher and raconteur. Fluent in several languages. Mensa, forheavenssakes. What can I say?

My beloved Bud had been her beloved for nearly two decades and her caregiver throughout an agonizing two years of relentless cancer. He was also her sole survivor and artistic executor, and the man redefined loyalty. Judith (whom I never met in real life) and I were born the same year. Had she not died young, I would never have reconnected with my long-ago romance and enjoyed an extraordinary, life-changing 26-year marriage. You’d think I could have been gracious about it all.

I was not. Moving to San Francisco where I knew exactly one person and he was in-house, I…

--

--

FranMorelandJohns
Crow’s Feet

Lifelong newspaper & magazine writer, author, blogger at franjohns.net, agitator for justice, kindness & interfaith understanding.