When You Are Part of The Over Sixty Crowd

Who still watches the Brady Bunch

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Philippe Leone on Unsplash

Thanks, Me-TV and Hulu and any other source of watching those old favorite tv shows. The last two Sundays, I have caught my husband watching The Brady Bunch. Was it on by accident? Did he just accidentally leave the channel on, and it came on without him realizing it?

Ok, I’ll go with that. It’s the same channel where he watches episode after episode of MASH as well as Adam 12. I never figured him for a Brady Bunch watcher, though. He is just enough older than me that he would have been too old to watch it the first time around. Plus, I never figured that boys were sitting around watching unless it was for a chance to catch a glimpse of Marcia Brady.

Photo by Sebastien LE DEROUT on Unsplash

I have to admit that I was an avid watcher when I was a kid. Who wouldn’t want to catch those oh-so-dramatic episodes where every little conflict gets resolved in half an hour? Plus, did you ever notice just how perfect that family was? Mrs. Brady didn’t have to work, and she still had Alice to cook and help her around the house. Three kids to a bedroom, wow! Mike Brady was an architect. Couldn’t he have designed a new wing for the house? Or, at least…

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor