Where Have All the Grownups Gone?

The infantilization of America

Denise Shelton
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Minnie Zhou on Unsplash

Has anyone noticed that nobody wants to be an adult anymore? Perhaps it’s my age (old), but it’s become increasingly apparent that the maturation level of the typical American adult has reverted to about age 15, myself included.

The abandonment of “age-appropriate” clothing, the geriatric tattoo parties, the universal acceptance of Crocs at a funeral, and words like “veggie” and “foodie” appearing in serious publications are things that point to a populace that refuses to grow up. I still cherish my baby blanket, and I’m on Medicare.

We’re all living in Never Never Land

This childish vibe is particularly apparent during the holiday season when adults dress in toddler-esque ugly sweaters and pose for Christmas card pictures wearing identical Union suits, including one for the dog. Sometimes, a child is involved.

The kid’s wish that every day was Christmas is finding its way into reality. I’m talking about those folks with fifteen, 10-foot inflatable snowmen in the yard they put up immediately after dismantling the animatronic graveyard on November 1st. I’m still snacking on Halloween candy while brining my turkey, so who am I to judge?

--

--