Who are They Calling Vulnerable?

Mary Dalton Selby
Crow’s Feet
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2020

Just because I am over the age of 60 does not automatically make me more susceptible to disease, right?

Image by <a href=”https://pixabay.com/users/BilliTheCat-7996303/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_
Image by Nina Garman from Pixabay

Lately, the term vulnerable is being used to refer to folks most at risk to get COVID-19, over 60 and those with pre-existing conditions. I thought they were talking about somebody else, not me. I think a lot of folks over the age of 60 feel the same way. That’s probably why Boomers fought the idea of staying at home at the beginning of the pandemic. We aren’t vulnerable! We lived through the ’70s and came out on the other side. Vulnerable, no way! We did drugs, drank, fought in a war, and had love-Ins for god’s sake!

It is hard to grasp the concept that we are now considered elderly and vulnerable. In the group that is usually thought of as fragile and helpless. I know very few people my age that I could hang those labels on. We may have slowed down a little and have a few more aches and pains, but 40-year-olds could say the same thing.

How did we suddenly get to this point? Many of us still have parents alive and kicking. It seems we just woke up one morning, and we are relegated to a new tribe.

Well, I am not buying it. I eat well, exercise, and keep myself in pretty good shape. I am not going down without a fight.

Don’t think you can write us off yet! We still have a lot to contribute to this world. And a lot of living to do.

--

--

Mary Dalton Selby
Crow’s Feet

Expert at nothing except my own life. Girlfriend. Friend. Mother. Grandmother.