Why the DASH Eating Plan is the Panacea to Weight-Loss Dieting and Chronic Diseases

It is not what we eat from Friday to Sunday that makes us or breaks us, it’s what we eat from Sunday to Friday that matters most.

🇳🇴Annelie
Crow’s Feet
Published in
10 min readOct 26, 2023

--

A plate with vegetables, on a dark wood table, with a fork, three grape tomatoes, and some green mint leaves.
Photo by Elena Leya on Unsplash

There was a pill container with Valium on the top shelf in the kitchen cabinet. Late Saturday evening, I came home from a high school dance. The boy I liked had danced cheek- to-cheek with another girl. I was 16 and my tender heart was broken in a thousand pieces. “I am too fat”, I thought to myself. “Of course, I am too fat for him to like me”.

My girlfriend once told me that she had slept for three days and lost a lot of weight. This was during the roaring ‘60s, the time of Op Art, rock and roll, and the civil right movement. It was also the time of Twiggy, skinny legs, and mini skirts. Being thin was the only thing that mattered.

I wanted to sleep for three days. Reaching for the Valium, I took as many pills as I thought would suffice. Then I went to sleep. Sunday I slept and slept and no arousal could wake me up.

Monday , I woke up in the hospital. That same day I was discharged to home. There were no discharge instructions.

--

--

🇳🇴Annelie
Crow’s Feet

Annelie is a Norwegian born pro age advocate who promotes health and happiness. With health in our back pocket, we can create new beginnings after age 65.