Will You Still Need Me, Will You Still Feed Me When I’m 64?

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet
Published in
14 min readAug 13, 2021

--

Deposit photos

A quick walk down memory lane and what that means for all of us right here, right now.

Turning sixty-four used to be SO OLD. Now we’re getting much older, much younger, and heading into a restless future where turning sixty anything takes on new meaning. This article speaks to that challenge.

I was barely into my teens when I first heard these lyrics:

When I get older losing my hair
Many years from now
Will you still be sending me a Valentine
Birthday greetings bottle of wine

If I’d been out till quarter to three
Would you lock the door
Will you still need me, will you still feed me
When I’m sixty-four….

-When I’m Sixty-Four, Paul McCartney

Paul McCartney wrote the melody to this song in 1956 when he was fourteen. I was three.

The song came out on the Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band album when I was fourteen.

He’s 79. I’m almost 69. I would posit that he’s got a bit more in his retirement bank than I do.

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.