You Know You Are Old If You Can Remember When The Milkman Delivered Your Milk To Your Front Door

And that’s just the beginning.

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Mehrshad Rajabi on Unsplash

Remember that line in the movie When Peggy Sue Got Married when Charlie Bodell confessed to Peggy Sue that his new girlfriend thought the Big Bopper was a hamburger?

That’s how our younger co-workers, children, and friends look at us when we mention some of the following memories. Here are a few that come to my mind.

I know that I am old because:

· I met Jimmy Carter when he was running for governor.

· I watched Gilligan's Island in black and white in its first run.

· I saw the Beatles on the Ed Sullivan Show.

· My aunt still had a party line on her telephone.

· I watched the Laurence Welk Show with my mother.

· I watched Dark Shadows with my sisters.

· I wasn’t allowed to wear pants to school.

· I watched my brother climb on the roof to fix the tv antennae.

· I only had one channel on tv to choose from.

· The milkman delivered milk to my door.

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor