Generation X — A Reckoning

Your Kids Don’t Want Your Sticker Collection or Old Mix Tapes

How do I know? You don’t want your parents’ stuff either

Maj-le Bridges
Crow’s Feet
Published in
5 min readFeb 24, 2024

--

A room filled with clutter and stacked with clothes, hats and books. A representation of the things that your kids don’t want to inherit.
Photo by Onur Bahçıvancılar on Unsplash

No one wants your stuff.

Your daughter isn’t re-wearing your wedding dress. Junior doesn’t want your collection of antique fishing lures. Your kids love you, not your shrunken head collection from your stint in the Peace Corps.

Tough Love

I’ve been thinking lately about the artifacts one collects over a lifetime. Maybe it’s because I’m middle-aged. Or because I’ve been fortunate to have accumulated so much junk. Maybe it’s because one day I’ll determine the fate of my parents’ hideous “expressionist” art and puke green Corelle dishes.

But most likely it’s because my teenage daughter doesn’t vibe with my obsessive attachment to Swatch watches, Hello Kitty erasers, or orange glass vases from the 1930s.

Memento Mori

I don’t dwell on the melancholic garage sale I’ll one day plan for my parents, or the one my daughter will (hopefully on a different day) plan for me.

In the midst of buying more stuff from Instagram ads, I read Ann Patchett’s article in The New Yorker about how the death of the…

--

--

Maj-le Bridges
Crow’s Feet

Gen X-er, recovering lawyer, frustrated writer, Lego enthusiast and serial creative. Medium Top Writer | Published in Start It Up & Age of Awareness.