Yul Brynner and I

What I learned from a dying man

James Frank Sanders
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Amritanshu Sikdar on Unsplash

Those who follow my retirement home stories know I sponsor a matinee movie every Sunday. My next presentation will be “The King and I” with Yul Brynner and Deborah Kerr.

The film was released in 1956 and was widely acclaimed. Brynner received an Academy Award for his work.

On television, six years later, Yul Brynner announced he had lung cancer.

My son was born on the same date.

Brynner spoke with his rich voice trembling a bit. At the end of his announcement, his final words were,

“Don’t Smoke!”

I was a two-pack-a-day smoker.

My son was new to this world.

My urgent desire was to live long enough to support my son into adulthood.

Brynner’s words struck me hammer hard. I quit smoking that day.

I dreamed I was smoking, sucking in deep draws on the mythical cigarette, and exhaling slowly, enjoying every puff. After one year, the dream smoking habit faded. I had no desire to smoke.

On October 10, 1985, Yul Brynner breathed his last agonizing breath. A fine actor was dead.

My son never saw his father smoke.

--

--

James Frank Sanders
Crow’s Feet

97-year-old Jim Sanders chronicles life as a senior citizen. He has lived a long time and has stories to tell.