100 Word Challenge — Temerity

I don’t really like this word

Skylar Quinn
Crush Hundo Edition
2 min readSep 16, 2023

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

One thing I strongly dislike about writing is the sense of inferiority regarding vocabulary. These HUNDO’s are meant to be fun, but sometimes I do really struggle. Take, for instance, Temerity. I have little confidence that I could use it correctly in a poem, short story, or even sentence. So today became a rant. English was always a struggle for me; moments like this remind me of what it was like in 2nd grade. When I realized I was different.

Remedial English was a thing I grew up with my whole life. I spent all of my high school in 2 English classes every year. Dyslexia was real in the 90’s, just not one that they really helped with a lot. I actually think it is pretty “temerity” of people to pick words that could be intimidating to adults with learning disabilities. I never want to insult or intimidate my readers. But here I am, intimidated by a vocabulary word that I never learned and don’t quite feel like I used correctly.

So today’s HUNDO is a rant. A rant to remind people that words are powerful. They can hurt the confidence of authors and readers. I always try to learn new words, add them to my vocabulary, and improve my writing tools. But I think with this word, it’s gonna go in the 86 files once this HUNDO is done.

--

--

Skylar Quinn
Crush Hundo Edition

Apple Best Selling Author, Author since 2010; finalist in multiple award competitions; multiple pen names & multiple genres