First Date (Coquettish) — A 100 Word Challenge

Eva Oscura
Crush Publications
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2023
Photo by Brian Lawson on Unsplash

The young woman sitting at the bar did not look like my blind date, but my friend Ben had assured me this was the outfit she would be wearing. “Red blouse, black skirt,” that’s what he’d said, and sure enough this beautiful, creature was wearing that very outfit. I admit the skirt was surprisingly short as it skimmed the top of her thigh highs, and her breasts were spilling out of the top of her unbuttoned blouse. Ben told me she was serious and bookish, just my thing.

As I approached the bar she turned and gave me a coquettish smile coupled with a suggestive wink. I extended my hand nervously in greeting. “Sarah? I’m Will. I’m really pleased to meet you at last.”

She licked her lips and slowly looked me up and down in a silent survey. “Will, mmm. Yes, I’ve been waiting for someone like you.” Her long scarlet fingernails trailed seductively down my bare forearm. “You look strong, Will. Are you?”

I shrugged self-consciously. “Well, I do work out and I try to eat…”

She wasn’t listening and I watched as she rapidly downed her colorful cocktail before wiping her mouth with the back of her hand. I was just about to ask if she wanted a second drink but she seemed to be in a bit of a hurry. “Let’s go Will.”

“What? Where are we going?”

“My place. Come on, chop chop. I have a full night planned for us.” She grabbed my arm and dragged me toward the door.

As we left the bar with alarming speed, we almost knocked over the poor, bespectacled, young woman in the raincoat who was entering at the same time. This was turning into an interesting evening.

Way over the one-hundred mark today. Sorry! This one got away on me.

--

--