An Accident Made Me Beautiful

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2016

--

Image by Angel Pan

My mother sat beside me in that green and metal chair every single night I was in the hospital and we counted my beauty marks one by one outloud.

“One beauty mark, two beauty marks, three beauty marks…”

On and on we went, discovering new ones each night before I closed my eyes. My mom told me this mythical tale about how new beauty marks would start growing while I slept and that I would have to wake up every morning if I wanted them to finish growing. Ridiculous, but I believed her, and kept waking up, and they kept growing. We added them to our count that night and giggled like two school friends texting at the back of the classroom.

“You keep those emeralds open, sweety. They’re your treasure.”

Yes, yes they were. A lost Treasure finally found. And now they weren’t fighting against a head stuck staring at the ground, or cheeks that squinted my emeralds into non existence. They were here, right here for everyone to see, and stare, and to comment on how they sparkled even within the eeriness of the hospital walls.

Could you imagine?

My life before this was as dim as my father’s eyes. I had to insert all the colour myself…

The following was a short excerpt from my upcoming novel BEAUTY SCARS.

Click the little heart if you like what you’ve read. Follow me right here on Medium Kern Carter.

You may also like my first novella THOUGHTS OF A FRACTURED SOUL, available here.

--

--

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine

Author, Writer, and Community Builder | I help writers feel like SUPERSTARS | kerncarter.com |