As We Cross Jupiter’s Night

Jacob Mills
CRY Magazine
Published in
2 min readOct 13, 2021

--

Is Love All There Is? — OfPublicInterest.04

Photo by USGS on Unsplash

Last night, I went out into the street to take a moment from my life, and I looked up to Jupiter. After a while I began to sonder. I imagined that I was just a fragment of reflection on a shining dot that passed over Jupiter’s sky.

I wondered if Jupiter, with its great red eye, had ever stopped to consider that dot. Or, if the dot just passed anonymously across its night sky, lost in the matrix of stars.

Jupiter has passed nightly across the lives of all that have lived here on Earth. All confined to this dot in the sky. Lives passing in and out of existence, confined as minutiae with no consequence to the Universe, yet gravely and ironically consequential to each other.

Standing there in the hot bitumen night, feeling my confinement to Earth amongst the vastness, I asked Jupiter, what is the point of this suffering life? What is the point of our social loneliness? Why do we pine away and work to death? Why do we aspire to titles and accolades that achieve nothing in the end but to ensure our absence? Why do we care for our extinction if we won’t be there to see it?

Why, Jupiter, do we do all we can to stop living, when we have an opportunity to live briefly upon this shining dot in your sky? Is there meaning amongst this meaninglessness?

And it occurs to me, we have life within us. We are life. I am a cell as much as I am a man, living briefly so that the great meta-organism can live an eternity.

There is no point other than to be alive, to feel alive, and to sustain life. We created the meaninglessness. The money. The jobs. The status. The worries.

It is love that drives us. Makes us feel and makes us sustain. Love is all there is. Everything else is pointless.

So, what of our cyclic journey across Jupiter’s night? Confined to a dot. Meaningless or not, I choose to feel alive; therefore, I am in love.

Lest I am just breathing.

If this musing made you feel alive or despondent, either way, then please clap it, follow my page, and subscribe below. Get unlimited access to my brain and that of every other Medium creator by signing up here today. Your small membership fee unlocks the expanse of Medium and supports me, and all other writers on here, to create the articles that you want to read. I did, no regrets.

This musing is dedicated to Rebecca Leigh, who requested for me to write on if love was all there is.

--

--

Jacob Mills
CRY Magazine

The internet of my brain. IG FB @microbesandtheuniverse