behind his eyes

Ryan J. Pearce
CRY Magazine
Published in
1 min readNov 27, 2021

when i went to see my son today he had something going on behind his eyes

i wish he would just talk to me

but his silence always lies

he’s so much like me that i can probably guess what he is thinking

he’s afraid to say so i smile to reassure

he just stares at me unblinking

i wonder what he thinks of me that his caution won’t let him say

he doesn’t seem uncomfortable

i’m always the nervous one when we play

maybe i’m reading too much into the mind of a seven year old boy

he talks to me when he is ready

and it usually involves a request for a toy

still i wish he would just talk to me and tell me what’s on his mind

frustrated i can only smile because

when i see him, my own words and thoughts i can’t find

© Ryan J. Pearce 2021

--

--

Ryan J. Pearce
CRY Magazine

Hitching a ride on this merry go round we call planet earth and commenting on what I see.