California Is Still With Me

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine
Published in
3 min readMar 15, 2018

--

LA LA

Some trips are just trips. You go, you have a good time, meet some people, then come home and, after some vacation withdrawal, you get on with your life in the same manner you did before.

Then there’s Los Angeles. For me, going to L.A. wasn’t just one of those trips that end up fading into the distant parts of your memory, only to be remembered when you scroll through your Photos app. Los Angeles was life changing.

I know what you’re thinking; you’ve heard this before. And yeah, you probably have. But my life changing experience wasn’t about any specific opportunity. I didn’t meet with a publisher or agent who gave me a deal. No one bought the script I wrote last year. Nothing like that.

For me, the connection went much deeper than that. The bond I felt my first full day in the city was magical. It’s the same kind of connection I felt when I moved to Queen street here in Toronto. It’s like this comfort, this mood, this unexplainable rush of emotion that fills your heart to let you know that you’re home.

It certainly helped that I ended meeting some amazing people. The picture you see above is me with an inspiring bunch of four and five year old kiddies. I have a friend who lives in LA and his son was going on a field trip through China Town and Little Tokyo. So I told him that I’d tag along.

This was like the moment for me. Their teacher was warm and adventurous and welcomed me as if I’d been there from the very beginning of her starting this school. We hung out on more than one occasion after the field trip.

My friend’s wife was also an amazing host. She pushed me to come out with her and her friends, who were all just as fun and free-spirited as she was. She lived in Los Feliz and I spent a lot of time hanging out in different bars and such in the area.

But I also did a lot of driving. I cruised the Pacific highway (I think that’s what it’s called) through Malibu. I stopped in Calabasas and got drunk in West Hollywood. I met friends for lunch in Santa Monica and acted like a tourist on Rodeo Drive.

Anyways, I’ll refrain from documenting my entire trip. The point is that L.A. spoke to me in a way that I couldn’t ignore. I’m already planning my next stay there. I don’t see it as a trip, it’s more like I’m going back to a place that’s supposed to be home.

CRY

--

--

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine

Author, Writer, and Community Builder | I help writers feel like SUPERSTARS | kerncarter.com |