Call For Submissions: What Have You Learned to Accept About Yourself?

Safia Bartholomew
CRY Magazine
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readNov 16, 2021
Adobe Stock — Mary Long

For the latest series of Love & Literature, writer Alessia Petrolito reflects on her experience as a Black child growing up in Italy with her adopted parents. Her darker skin and afro full of coils were constant reminders of how different she looked from her friends and the people she loved. In the end, she finally reaches the point of accepting that she just might not belong.

In I’m Tired of Losing Sanity, she states:

Nìvura. I’m tired of losing sanity, escaping reality and myself. In these last five years, I felt like an expressionist painter. Every now and then, I’m enlightened and form theories that give me the right to be me: reasons and patterns that explain why I am who am I and why I feel what I feel.

So let’s talk about self acceptance. It can be something physical, a personal experience or perhaps one of your weaknesses. We’re wondering what have you learned to accept about yourself?

**Quick note: We ARE NOT accepting new writers at the moment. We’ll likely open up to new writers sometime in the new year.

Same rules still apply:

  • You can submit to this or ANY of our past writing prompts. Just scroll through our previous newsletters. They’ll be marked “Call for Submissions.”
  • If you’re already a writer for CRY, go ahead and submit.
  • Be as creative as you want in your submissions. As long as you stick to the topic, we’ll consider it.
  • Just because you submit doesn’t mean we’ll post. If you haven’t heard back from us in three days, consider that a pass.

Please reach out if you have any questions at all. If you are new to Medium, here’s how you submit a draft to a publication.

--

--