Call For Submissions — What Mask Are You Wearing Now?

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

1 min readOct 13, 2022

--

There’s so much symbolism in a mask. It can be meant as a decorative or stylistic cover for your face. It can be seen as a sign of oppression. More recently, we’ve seen how a mask can be used for protection, or at least to symbolize protection.

I think we’re all wearing some kind of mask. I’ll speak for myself when I say that I was hiding for a long time and am still trying to pull my mask all the way off.

For this week’s writing prompt, tell me what mask you are wearing. I know this community and I know you’ll get super creative with this prompt so I’m really excited to read the submissions.

Same rules as always:

  • You can submit to this or ANY of our past writing prompts. Just scroll through our previous newsletters. They’ll be marked “Call for Submissions.”
  • If you’re already a writer for CRY, go ahead and submit.
  • Be as creative as you want in your submissions. As long as you stick to the topic, we’ll consider it.
  • Just because you submit doesn’t mean we’ll post. If you haven’t heard back from us in three days, consider that a pass.

--

--

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine

Author, Writer, and Community Builder | I help writers feel like SUPERSTARS | kerncarter.com |