Call For Submissions — What Song Makes You Cry?

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readApr 5, 2022

--

The first time I cried to a song, I was on my way to Rochester, New York. It was Thanksgiving break and my friend leant me his car. It was my third year in university and the campus was pretty much empty, so I decided to go visit one of my friends for the weekend.

Alicia Keys latest album was out. It was called As I Am and to this day, it’s one of my favourite albums and definitely my favourite album from her. About halfway through the trip, I popped in the CD and let the album play out.

The third or fourth song on the album is “Like You’ll Never See Me Again.” I don’t know if it’s the piano at the beginning, the lyrics or Alicia’s voice, but seconds into the track, tears started building. It was this unexplained, unexpected rush of emotions and the tears streamed down my face for the entire song. I still don’t trust listening to this song unless I’m by myself.

For this writing prompt, tell us about a song that brought you joy or brought you to tears. What were the circumstances? Can you still listen to that song today without feeling some kinda way?

Same rules as always:

  • You can submit to this or ANY of our past writing prompts. Just scroll through our previous newsletters. They’ll be marked “Call for Submissions.”
  • If you’re already a writer for CRY, go ahead and submit.
  • Be as creative as you want in your submissions. As long as you stick to the topic, we’ll consider it.
  • Just because you submit doesn’t mean we’ll post. If you haven’t heard back from us in three days, consider that a pass.

--

--

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine

Author, Writer, and Community Builder | I help writers feel like SUPERSTARS | kerncarter.com |