Photo by: Wonderlane

Crisis.

Kevin C. Grant
CRY Magazine
Published in
1 min readSep 19, 2021

--

One too many drinks in the morning.

One too many drinks in the evening.

One too many hours late for work.

One missed birthday cascades into more-

Too many.

One too many broken promises.

One too many excuses that descend into lies-

Too many.

To other people, and to the reflection in the mirror.

Several years on a sofa under a roof that belongs to my sole supporter.

Not any number, eleven for clarity.

I keep my eyes closed to a judgmental world.

“Doing bad? He’s just a lazy bum!” a raspy voice condemns one floor above.

A wooden door slowly creaks open with a whine, out of the shadows comes a toddler boy accompanied by a gang of others his age.

“Uncle Louie, no one ever says they want to be a loser when they grow up?”

“Am I a loser? I am a loser?”

A statement, or a question still waiting to be answered.

Nevertheless, a heartfelt blow to my inescapable reality, provoked by a four-year-old.

--

--

Kevin C. Grant
CRY Magazine

At the intersection of weird and wise… From where they make gumbo at to the city of Angels.