Father May I?

Jennifer L. Stafford
CRY Magazine
Published in
1 min readSep 17, 2022
Image provided by Canva

He came to this country looking for a dream.
He found a woman with eyes that were lighter than green.

To them,
his credentials said the most that he could do was look after me.
The jobs under the table were not stable.
I constructed with him on the sites,
after school, we rode our bikes.

So,
it was a man that taught me how to be.
Me.
A woman.
A budding young woman watching my mother go to work every morning to feed our family.

What
is
patriarchy?

Bringing doughnuts to the teachers, he was never less of a man,
you see.
The only father in the PTA,
for me.

Compassionately strong.
Gently forceful.
Assertive and accommodating.
Courageous and calm.

A man taught me how to be human.
A woman taught me how to be human.

Recognizing masculine energy only occurs
because there is a feminine energy.
The yin to the yang of being a human being.

The totality holds the duality.

What
is
patriarchy?

--

--

Jennifer L. Stafford
CRY Magazine

Philosophically poetic self-love teacher, resilience hustler, mental health choreographer, wordsmith. Ivyrelationships.com