From Professional Football to Professional Father

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2017

--

A passionate parent and partner describes his balancing act.

The following was written by Kerry Carter, a husband, father, and ambitious marketer. Read his story.

As a young boy, the days seem to be endless. Mainly because I spent most of my time doing the things I loved, and they mostly involved sports, being outside, on a court, on a field, and with friends and teammates.

As a man, husband, and father of two little spark plugs, the time is still fulfilling but somehow the days seem shorter. My life has taken me in so many directions and allowed me a platform upon which to build my version of success and happiness.

I was lucky enough to live out my dream of playing professional football for many years and concluded my career before having kids. My motivation to have a successful transition out of the game I love coincides with me meeting my beautiful wife and starting a family together. My family comes first, and providing for them by pursuing something I am passionate about is imperative to me.

Being an entrepreneur afforded me a lot of great things; freedom, flexibility, and the ability to build my specific vision. The time dedicated to this pursuit sometimes kept me away from the ones I cherished most. Not just physically, but mentally and emotionally. It was difficult at times to be present when my mind constantly wandered to spreadsheets and business plans; evaluating decisions and exploring opportunities to help move my vision forward to create the life I imagined for our family.

I was constantly striving to be balanced, then I would beat myself up for being anything but that. My struggle is not an unfamiliar one for anyone who tries to balance their ambition for greatness with the responsibility of fatherhood and being a great spouse. I didn’t want to just be good at either, I wanted to be my best at both (is that too much to ask?).

What I’ve realized is that I don’t need to fight this balance battle alone. My wife has been the foundation of my success. I watch how she stays motivated, how she is driven in her own career while still being a loyal, loving wife and a passionate, devoted mother. And she makes all of it look effortless, as if her balance isn’t a struggle. And while I know it can be tough, just observing her, having her in my presence is inspiration enough.

These days, my journey has led me to a great place. Finding the balance I have craved for years in a great career, doing something that barely feels like work, while being able to disconnect and be completely present with my loved ones. The path has not been straight, and I have taken my lumps along the way, but that just gives me a great story to share, and in my opinion, callouses build character.

--

--

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine

Author, Writer, and Community Builder | I help writers feel like SUPERSTARS | kerncarter.com |