Hate for Love

Jennifer L. Stafford
CRY Magazine
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2022
Image provided by Canva

From somewhere…

Our complexion calls us kin.
You struggled to accept me because of the underwhelming degree of my melanin.
I looked for you to look for me.
You looked at me with hate in your eyes.
You relied on their lies.
Their wounds guided you.
You saw me when you saw you.
And they taught you to hate.
Yourself.

How could we ever be someone else?

Half of me is half of you.
Love is what got me through.
With fire in my eyes, I took a torch to my pride and prioritized my peace.
Bathed myself in compassion and humility.
I forgave you for not knowing how to love.
Knowing what love is,
is not a requirement for having kids.

You were wounded,
emotionally.

Generation after generation.
The concentration of hurt came first.
It always comes first.
It gets worse before it gets worse.

So breathe…

Just breathe.

The love in your lungs is what aided in the birth of me.
Believe.
Believe in being.
Your most truest you.

Bringing love to the fire is how the seedlings reroute their roots.
I loved me so much that I took your hate from you.
Eradicated my wounds and passionately found my truth.

Somewhere…

You are me and I am you.

--

--

Jennifer L. Stafford
CRY Magazine

Philosophically poetic self-love teacher, resilience hustler, mental health choreographer, wordsmith. Ivyrelationships.com