Is My Ambition Helping or Hurting My Daughter?

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2018

--

Sometimes it’s hard to tell.

It’s about 5:30 a.m. as I’m writing this. At 6:00 a.m. my daughter’s alarm will go off and she’ll come strolling out of her room and jump in the shower. By 7:00 a.m., she’ll be ready for school.

Except we live only 25 minutes away from her school and her first class doesn’t start until 8:45.

This has been my daughter’s new routine since the school year started. She’s in 11th grade and she’s already professed that this is “her year.” Sewing class every Tuesday, 3D printing every other Monday, kickboxing twice a week, and we’re searching for graphic design classes and a weekend retail job to fit into her schedule. We’re also committed to attending at least one artistic event each week.

This is all her idea. She insisted I pack her schedule and she’s kept me accountable in making sure that happens. My only caveat was that she keep her grades exceptional and she hasn’t scored lower than a 90 on any of her tests.

One part of me is loving this. To watch her grow into a young woman and explore different versions of herself has been incredible. But I know part of why she’s been so focused on waking up early and filling her schedule is because she’s watching me.

Kids Notice Everything

--

--

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine

Author, Writer, and Community Builder | I help writers feel like SUPERSTARS | kerncarter.com |