Just like a Rock

The world is not what we think of it.
I have woken up from my dreams where I am accepted for what I am.
I have now entered the reality where I have accepted myself for what I am.

Chandrika Pandey
CRY Magazine
2 min readMar 28, 2022

--

Photo by Ben Karpinski on Unsplash

The fear of losing them
gave me the strength to bear my own loss.
The wish to keep them happy
turned out to be my biggest despair.
The words I used to console them with,
were the words they returned as poisoned arrows.
They fear losing me because I am important to them,
My importance is equivalent to their need in grief.

After knowing all this,
Just like a lifeless rock, I stand for them, not to respond, but to listen to them.
After all I do, I am still questioned for not responding.
My stillness, my silence, and my worth are questioned.
But now it doesn’t matter.
Just like a rock; I choose to be stable,
to bear the harsh sun, layers of sand, and the aggressive rain.
I hope that my resistance will not go in vain.
I will be felt by those footsteps choosing to walk on the sand.
I will place myself beneath
so that they can walk with ease.
I will still be known for my coldness,
and not my toughness.

Everyone is unaware of the layers I hide within myself.
Each layer has a story behind what I am now.
My story won’t be revealed unless I am broken,
and breaking me is not so simple.
My tiniest particle will survive,
That’s why, just like a rock,
I choose to be stable.

--

--

Chandrika Pandey
CRY Magazine

I'm a student of philosophy with a keen interest in the subject. I'm an animal lover and an Admirer of nature. I moulding uniqueness with creativity.