My Armenian Heart

An Ode to Nature

Lilit A. Sargsyan
CRY Magazine
1 min readDec 9, 2021

--

Photo Credit: Zaven Sargsyan

I left my heart in my Armenia,
In her mountains it dreams to be.
Deep dark forests where wolves live on,
There’s nowhere else she’d rather be.

My heart’s dispatched into her hills,
The ups and downs of my rolling life.
With every turn my spirit fills,
With each raindrop banishing strife.

The fields and flowers, the chirpy brooks,
The endless houses of honeybees.
The curvy roads and hills with nooks,
Fruit orchards ‘sfar as the eye sees.

I left my heart in my Armenia,
Most days it calls me to return.
Some days it wails, at times it laughs,
The highs and lows I feel in turn.

But here I am, far from my land,
And in this forest, I’m happy too.
This river flows, these oaks stand grand,
Covered with nests of the cuckoo.

Still every time I feel the breeze,
I know from whence it makes its start.
On its ephemeral wings it brings
The wailful call of my wild heart.

--

--

Lilit A. Sargsyan
CRY Magazine

An intensivist trying to find moments of peace in nature. On twitter @lilitdoc