My Journey Towards Unbecoming

I am in the phase of knowing myself better

Drashti Shroff
CRY Magazine

--

Photo by Sarah Wolfe on Unsplash

It was 2014.

A few months had passed since I started college and I was having the ‘best’ time of my life. One evening, after my friends and I had tea, we headed towards a nearby crossroad and seated ourselves on one of the benches which lay there. It was our usual routine where the four of us spent a great time together, laughing, making fun of each other and discussing strategies for the upcoming exams.

On this evening, one of our classmates came up to us. She was enraged. Something terrible had happened with her and she seemed very disturbed about it. She started venting it out in front of us. We comforted her and she felt a little better. Soon after, she made a statement towards me and said —

“Do you do yoga or something? How do you manage to seem to calm and cool at all times?”

I made a quick not-so-loud laughter and told her, “I am just like this.”

She then looked at one of my other friends on the bench and told her, “Whenever I see her, she is always quiet, smiling and sorted, don’t you agree?”

“She is the ‘great’ saint”, my friend blurted out in sarcasm.

In no time, the focus of the conversation shifted from her misery to my…

--

--