Opting out of Exceptionalism as an actor of color

Art Rat Theatre Company
CRY Magazine
Published in
5 min readDec 4, 2019
Shot by Quoc Quan Le, resident Director of Photography at Art RAt
Me (left), Resident actor Maria Oliveira(right). Shot by Quoc Quan Le, resident DP at Art Rat

Hi, I’m Rose Kim. 24 years old. Korean American. Daughter of divorced immigrants. The founder of Art Rat Theatre Company (2019), previously the co-founder of Millennial Theater (2016), and as a fun fact: an office worker by day.

Before I continue — First: Sources: This tweet went around today and it DID me. I believe her name is Seren and she is speaking to the basics here. Listening to her gave me the surge of energy I’m flowing out to you now.

There is no one in any marginalized group in this country that can pull themselves up by their bootstraps and magically remove themselves from our’s society’s ills. Yes, certain types of people have the opportunities that other peoples don’t have, of course, the Obamas, perfect example of that. However, those are exceptions to the rule. And it is ridiculous — and I’m not finished, I know you’re white and a man so you think you can talk but you need to Tsk! Tut! —

That is the exception, and that is not the rule.
And it is absurd, it is ridiculous to look at the people who do get out of marginalized groups and use them as some type of benchmark that you can hold all the rest of us to.

If you look at the statistics of what’s going on with Black Americans in this country, it’s absurd. It’s of-fucking-ffensive.

— Seren (The Grapevine)

Foremost, I’m an actor.

I found acting in 2014 and began performing on stage in 2015.
From 20 years old to now, I have performed in, written, directed, and/or produced over 30 shows. I don’t think I need to prove it, so much as I just want to express: I love performing and studying it.

If I could act and do none of the producing/directing/writing legwork I think I’d be fine. But I’d only be happy “just acting” if my producers were all activists, my directors were all in a process of decolonization, and all the texts were timely and by POC.

Now, you’re getting my taste and style, I think.
4 years later and I think it’s really begun to emerge. Which means I’ve become increasingly protective — unapologetically precious — of my performing body.

The prevailing question now is, What kind of infrastructure am I manipulating my body for? Yes. It had better be the kind of space I’m looking for.

Resident actors Ash Mehta & Maria Oliveira. Shot by Quoc Quan Le, resident DP.

I take the show-making and acting process so seriously that the infrastructure that holds the space and the principles motivating the space matter. Ideally speaking, these are non-negotiables.

I produce and direct because I want to act and I can’t stomach waiting for someone else to say OK, you have my permission. And even after you’re cast, an actor can only meekly hope for diversity. You just pray 10 times before bed every night before the table read for a woke ass room. You tell yourself all the white people…they MUST be ALLIES, right?!

Sometimes, we are granted and blessed with truly diverse creative environments. It’s cataclysmic when we are; every time I have been so lucky, I feel the ground melt and tremble underneath our feet. But you can guess it~ it’s rare.

“Making it” would be a waste of time for what my goals are.

My core desire is simple and focused : I want to perform stories for people. But I am a scrupulous little woman and I know my needs better than last year, which were better than the year before.

What I mean is my principles are stuck way way way up my ass lol. So much so that assimilating into the industry would be chiefly taxing, risky and unhomely. In the end: a distraction and an annoying detour to what is the core need in my heart.

I’m not a career actor. My art is not meant to be my Capitalism-Success Hall Pass. I’d be lying if I said my first priority is performing if all I did was wait for the money, or wait for the Approval. Those are different priorities, you feel me?

My art is so good to me. It keeps me alive, fresh, excited, loving. I have to practice it like drinking water and breathing. My well-being literally could not afford waiting for someone else to Allow me.

I’m an actor. I am a performer. I bend my body, my voice, my spirit, to be seen in a way (that theatre is) that allows me to see others at the same time. I want to be in a room with you. I want to exchange. Nothing matters as much as this.

So no.

I’m not going to work to become the Next Exception rising to the top of a broken system to do what I love. to live. To thrive. To flourish. To be Well. To perform and to be the best performer my body can love.

I want myself and you to know that me and you are exceptionAL period, for reasons deeper and more unexplored than outer space.

The company in a run through of Antidotes of the Heart. Shot by Quoc Quan Le.

Here’s 1: a heritage of indefatigable Resistance that is so exceptional it is contagious. I believe if you can feel connected to it (and that’s possible without any regard to what race you are) , you tap into a powerful energy source accumulating for millennia.

Oppression is ancient. and Resistance has never ceased. Ever.
I find Us being here today Speaks to that fact very easily.

I feel connected to this history and I draw incredible power from it. I am lucid. I see that we are exceptional and and we don’t need to be the exceptION of white infrastructures to find out and live out this truth.

I love finding and living out this truth because I know I am contributing my own energy to this ancient heritage. We are in a vitalizing exchange.

I will prevent ExceptionaliSM from complicating this natural truth of me , and of you. That when we connect to our heritage of Resistance, we are gifted with the glimpse of how radically exceptional we truly are : powerful and common and empowered in common.

--

--

Art Rat Theatre Company
CRY Magazine

Our new virtual theatre production of “Callus”, by Art Rat Guest Resident Artist Jasmine Washington. September 5,6,12,13. (instagram.com/artrattheatre)