Premonitions as Guardian Angels

When life prepares you for what comes next, even if it hurts like hell.

Nah.
CRY Magazine
3 min readSep 15, 2021

--

Photo by Jez Timms on Unsplash.

A few days before my birthday, I wrote something on Instagram. It was nothing exceptional. It was a good text in my mind since I had spent time working on my writing, and I got some good feedback on it.

I never had a lot of followers on my account. That made me feel like a failure and a fraud. However, I kept on posting new work. I intended to keep refining my mostly self-taught craft.

This is what I wrote:

Today, I embrace all of me.

What does this mean, you may ask? Well, let me tell you… it was hard to pin down. Our programming is very noisy inside our heads. The committee was very convincing. I believed that I didn’t had what it takes for decades.

I believed that what my best friend saw when I was a kid couldn’t be real. How could she love me when I hated myself so much?

Someone told me once that things were going to come slow to me. That it might look like I was lost on the outside, but “not all who wander are lost”.

So I just wanted to say (mostly to myself) that just for today, I am glorious. And I hope you feel that way too. Because you are. We all are.

Little did I know that a week or two after that, I would make good on that promise every single minute of every day.

The heroine’s journey

Trauma. Illness. Abuse. Betrayal. Surrender. Healing. Connection. Resilience. Resistance. Recovery. Passion. Truth. Love. These were some of the themes of my journey.

I never envisioned writing about the trauma the way I’m doing it today. I thought I would use this platform for something else, but I still needed to do this. And I am infinitely grateful for that because I can honestly say that I don’t know if I would have made it to the other side without writing.

As a little child, writing was my coping mechanism. When I lost myself in darker parts of my journey, I wouldn’t be able to write. Therefore, I was helpless.

When I found my way back to myself, I was able to write again. I could be in my true refuge, and I intend to continue honoring my journey daily.

If this helps you…

  • Let me know! I hope to have amazing conversations and build connections with fellow travelers.
  • Share with others! Let’s give away what was given to us so freely.
  • Follow me! I want to continue being of service to others in any way I can.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoy my work, buy me a coffee or consider supporting me by becoming a paid Medium member.

You can also check out my publication, The Incognito Revolution. We’re looking for writers! Drop your ego behind and join us. We’re waiting for you.

--

--