Silent Screams

Can you hear them in words?

Life is Amazing with Books and Writers
CRY Magazine
2 min readNov 1, 2021

--

The unheard screams of silence choke within the walls
The tears and sobs never pass beyond the doors
Only the echoes of sighs and whimpers remain
That is lost in the chaos of the audible world

Why?

I never asked for the stars
I just needed a glow to move ahead
But you put me in a life of eclipse. Why?
I never asked for luxuries
I just needed little things just mine
But you snatched even my smiles. Why?
I never asked for captured heart
I just needed a smile I could trust
But you instilled in me just hurt. Why?
I never asked for world at my feet
I just needed a tiny space without fears
But you choked even my tears. Why?
I never asked for a queen’s throne
I just needed some dignity and faith.
But you denied even my labour rights. Why?

Women and children in every part of the world are subjected to many forms of abuse apart from the visible and physical forms. Mental and emotional abuse is so silent in its perpetuation that the victims do not even realise that they are subjected to any kind of abuse.

Asian women suffer from these latter types of abuse so commonly, that nobody bothers to even raise any voice against the perpetrators because they are usually evicted of its blame for being a close family member. Women and children are mostly not even aware of concepts like Marital Rape which remain hidden behind blind filial notions.

Please educate your children about these often considered taboo topics and save them from being inadvertent victims. Do share your opinion on this post/poem. Would be glad to have your open comments on this issue.

I also invite the readers to go through my other posts.

So much for today from Life is Amazing with Books and Writers

Kern Carter

Aimée Gramblin

Ravyne Hawke

Samah Fadil

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)

Lubna Yusuf

--

--

Life is Amazing with Books and Writers
CRY Magazine

Mother, Professor, book worm, poetess, writer of emotions and hushed facts, aspiring fiction writer and a learner till the last breath….