Split Apart

Jett Belavin
CRY Magazine
Published in
May 18, 2022

She’s beautiful; my loving sweetheart
the canvas of God, a peerless piece of art
a lantern of joy; my light in the dark
my perfect puzzle piece; my only counterpart,
but, there’s a fork in the road, and we’re forced to split apart.

You ascend,
for you were made to fly,
I hit a dead-end,
for I was born to die,
I watch you rise as I slowly sink
in a life without magic
you were my greatest trick; the ace up my sleeve
“So please,” I plea, “don’t grieve as you leave
for we are who we are and life dealt you better cards,
I just want you to know,
you’re the only queen suited for my heart.”

By: Nathanael Mortensen

https://pin.it/4UxGi0D

--

--

Jett Belavin
CRY Magazine

Writer, creative, poet, and student at OCADU. I write to inspire and intrigue and strive to be profound and thoughtful.