Starbucks Dream

Jollene Phillips
CRY Magazine
Published in
2 min readSep 16, 2021
Photo by Nadine Shaabana on Unsplash

I’ll have a Caramel Frappuccino,
make that with extra caramel and extra whipped cream to fulfill my Starbucks dream.

A few added calories mean today I order tall.

Convincing myself my extra added confessions are nothing more than, caffeine's affection,
addictive connections,
mental erections,
I'm awake now.

Ya, extra is what I am having today,
although one might say,
our wants become our needs,
our likes turn into greed,
from this we plant seeds,
of poison.

You see yesterday I ordered a venti nice and large,
vanilla bean with soy milk,
because that's what healthy means…right.

Cravings so sincere,
feelings so dear,
motive unclear.

I convince myself that by getting a bigger size I can quench and fulfill those needs,
one slurp,
two slurps,
till it's gone.

I'm full yet it still didn't feed…me.

And so that’s why today I’m having a Caramel Frappuccino,
with extra caramel and extra whipped cream,
to fulfill my Starbucks dream.

Too often have I held back because of guilty pleasures,
society exposing my secret endeavors,
or because he changes his mind as to what is beautiful like the weather.

But I’m here to say,
that I’m no longer running away.

That I’m accepting these feelings that are here to stay,
because I’ve made up my mind and extra is what I’m having today!

I’m trading my Caramel Frappuccino with some confidence for me though,
and that extra caramel,
replace it with some extra care,
and instead of whipped cream,
I’ll have a double shot of self-esteem.

But what you don’t know or cannot see,
is that my Starbucks passion,
my Starbucks lover,
my Starbucks dream,
is only a reflection of me.

--

--