Swimming With The Devil

Tiffani Williams
CRY Magazine
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2019
Photo by Will Swann on Unsplash

3 years ago. That’s when it started. You were like nothing I’ve ever seen or had before; real, honest, true. We fell deeper in love as the days flew by. We were dangerously in love and everyone knew it. We were inseparable; spent hours together until the sun came up. We were one; I gave myself to you as you gave yourself to me. Together we were going to conquer the world. Our love was like an ocean, beautiful, deep, and full of treasure; but dangerous. We drifted where we could no longer see land. We went along with the current splashing and playing, all while holding on to our life jackets. You told me to trust you, and to let go of mine; that you would be there to hold and protect me. And so, I did… your smile turned into a blinding light of illusions and lies. Where are you? I can’t feel you. You let go of me, my eyes burning from the tears as my heart is obliterated. I reach for you as you watch me slowly sink and drown. The tips of my fingers now fully submerged…I watch as the surface gets further and further away. Silly me, I should’ve known…known that I was swimming with the devil.

--

--