This caseworker got creative to inspire youth during quarantine

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine
Published in
2 min readMay 26, 2020

--

Breanna Chanelle Phillip wasn’t going to let quarantine stop her from engaging the youth she works with. So she bought some paint supplies, dropped them at the front doors of the youth that are involved in her program, and added another small surprise to what became an evening of creative expression.

My favourite part of the interview:

“At the beginning, the youth hadn’t even wet their brushes yet and they’re thinking of what it’s going to look like at the end. I’m like no, let’s go through the process.”

Let’s get to the full interview!

CRY: Before the quarantine happened, what would be a typical day for you at work?

Breanna

I work at an organization called For Youth Initiatives and I’m the Black Youth Case Lead. So my position is basically around ensuring that the organization has programs and services that are geared towards cultural safety for Black youth and ensuring that there are programs that help them to discover and express their identity.

For me, specifically, something big was not only identity in regards to blackness, but diversity within blackness. I find that a lot of times there are programs that are like, it’s for Black youth and I’m just like, which Black? So for me, it was really big to ensure that when we’re speaking about blackness, we’re not speaking about one monolithic existence.

CRY: What was going through your head when you came up with that idea for a virtual paint night?

Breanna

Obviously because of the time we’re living in, wanting to kind of give them something else to do. A lot of [the youth]have complained about being bored and not being able to go outside, so I was trying to find something that we could do that would switch things up for them a little bit. So I ended up hiring an amazing visual artist, Samantha Dennis, went out and purchased the paint supplies, put them in little bags and did door drop-offs at the youth’s houses. I also purchased Uber Eats gift cards, so it was kinda like we were eating and painting at the same time.

CRY: What do you think the youth got out of it?

Breanna

I think it’s a matter of trying something even if it’s scary. Like it’s very easy to do what you’re good at, but you don’t know if you can do more if you don’t try more. That was one thing. Also not focusing too much on the end result and focusing more on the process. At the beginning, the youth hadn’t even wet their brushes yet and they were thinking of what it’s going to look like at the end. I’m like no, let’s go through the process.

You can keep up with Breanna on her Instagram page @breannachanelle_

CRY

--

--

Kern Carter
CRY Magazine

Author, Writer, and Community Builder | I help writers feel like SUPERSTARS | kerncarter.com |