To Mind My Own Business.

Nikita Dhumal
CRY Magazine
Published in
4 min readAug 24, 2021

Listen, if you never want to go unemployed.

Photo by Zane Lee on Unsplash

I have been a good employee. I have my start-up. I started working at the early age of 15. My business idea developed when I observed myself thinking about others. In 10th grade, while I was writing a slambook, I was asked to name one quality I do not like about myself. I wrote Being Judgemental. I decided to change that, and that was the moment I found my first job.

When my best friend got into a relationship, I thought we were too young at that time. She wanted my opinion about the guy she dated. I craved to judge her. I wished she concentrated on her studies instead of guys. But then I reminded myself I was at work. I thought I had to understand her. So I did what a good employee does; I obeyed what was right. I did not judge her when they dated and when they broke up.

I lived in a joint family for 20 years of my life. It is common in my culture. We were 11 people living under one roof, I was happy. One day my mom and dad decided to move out due to some issues they had. I was shocked as I did not see that coming. I was under the assumption that everyone was happy together. Maybe I was wrong. We moved out. I was shattered and angry. It was difficult for me not to miss my grandparents, uncle, aunt, and cousins. They all were my friends and guardians. I judged my parents. I concluded them to be greedy and bad decision-makers. I had failed in my job this time, I judged my parents too soon here.

I think exercise is a must. And healthy food choices are smart choices. For years I judged people for not being like me. I thought people who ignore physical health are lazy and dumb. Then something happened which made me realize that life gives different experiences to everyone.

My mental health deteriorated. I was unable to do most things I loved before. I had put on weight due to a bad routine. This experience taught me something important; I am no one to judge anyone who is unhealthy, healthy, or whatever they are. They are going on their path, feeling something inside them no one can know, experiencing things no one can understand other than themselves. It is their choice, and only their choice. So my second job was, To mind my own business. This time I had failed again only to understand what I was doing wrong. I had no empathy towards them.

I had two jobs now. One- not to judge others and two- to be empathic. As I grew, I realized how important it was to be empathetic towards everyone.

“ Empathy begins with understanding life from another person’s perspective. Nobody has an objective experience of reality. It’s all through our own individual prisms”, Sterling K. Brown

There are people in my close circle struggling with anxiety, depression, schizophrenia, Alzheimer’s disease. My work at my start-up has helped me understand them better. Awareness is necessary to practice empathy. We can manage mental disorders only when we are aware of them and allow people to express themselves.

Different societies have different standards of beauty. We often listen to comparisons based on those beauty standards. Even life choices are a matter of discussion for many. People talk if a woman is a single mother, divorced, or if she remarries. They gossip about her choice of never wanting to get married or never having a kid. People talk if a man expresses himself, cries when he feels hurt, or wants to put on some make-up. When I make these observations now, I know my lifelong job. I will not judge people for their life choices. I will try to understand their feelings and talk about their experiences.

My work is to make it easier for everyone to live in this world, to believe in the power of self-expression. My task is to support the rights of the LGBTQ+ community, to let people fight for their rights or their beliefs, help the disadvantaged. My work is to be a person who does not hinder any community’s growth. My duty is to protect my environment.

I will fail a few times, lose hope sometimes. But I know my work is crucial. It is the right thing to do. Hence, I will continue to improve at my work and help others to do it too. Would you like to be an employee in my start-up? Your job description will be- To mind your own business.

If you like this article, follow me for more great content.

Subscribe to get an email when I publish a new article!

--

--