What Every Creative Needs From a Nomadic Traveler

Learning to embrace a life of grand leaps

r.j. quirk
CRY Magazine

--

[Call for submissions — when was the last time you took a leap?]

The last four years have taken me across 4 continents and through 24 countries. I’m on a journey to find my forever home; it just hasn’t revealed itself yet.*

I don’t remember the last time I ignored my heart. You see, the thing about solo-travel is you don’t answer to anyone but yourself.

For the most part, there’s no boss to please. No family to consider. No time restrictions. And definitely no weighty inhibitions.

It’s a life of very little compromise. (color me selfish.)

Even when compromise is necessary, the choice is completely in your hands. Whatever you choose, your decision is an act of radical autonomy.

You must sculpt a reality from your wildest dreams.

This is not to say that nomadic travelers don’t have obligations. We still have to fund our lives. Our brains are always full of ethical considerations. And we are forever at the command of cultural expectations.

But comparing these obligations to that of a typical person would be unfair.

--

--

r.j. quirk
CRY Magazine

Pin-up-daddy by day, them-fatale by night. Exploring the embodiment of trans/non-binary identity through writing (pronouns: they/them) xx