Writing alone I seldom stay lonely for long

Dr Bhupesh Gupta
CRY Magazine
Published in
3 min readNov 13, 2021

People keep on joining caravan keeps on moving

Photo 104483970 © CristinaConti | Dreamstime.com

Whenever I have to write

I know I have to get alone

maneuvering my boat I reach

a place where I’ll be on my own

Once sure there’s no one

To attract or distract me

It’s time to get naked

And take a dive

As I have to explore myself

Very deep and very wide

reaching the depths

the ambiance feels alien

Silence deafening

A perfect recipe for loneliness

But I know I won’t remain lonely for long

For its just a matter of time

When they will come

I just have to maintain my nakedness

Immersed in the stillness of time

Have to keep my eyes open

Not to see but to know

My ears open

Not to hear but listen

My tongue flickering

Not to taste but savor

My nostrils flaring

Not for breath but inspiration

My skin receptive

Not to superficial touch

But deeper sensation

Fingers intertwined in anxiety

Wavering eyes long for familiarity

Soon my gaze gets fixated

On something distant

Closing on me – for me

And here they come

Riding a musical procession

Here comes my memories

Playing trumpet of my successes

Along with the violin of failures

Drums are beating on my bad deeds

As my goodies play a soothing background score

From far very far

I hear a bagpiper play

Telling me something

Which I never knew but was always there

Now comes my imagination

Which looks hazy veiled

I know it has no face

As it has to happen in real

Before I call it a curse or grace

Memories play tunes the way I had originally played

But imagination is my orchestra to be played the way I want I to play

And have to be very watchful

For if I lose the baton

My orchestra of imagination

Will get into a disarray

And play tunes to scare

I take notes from each tune

And make a melody of my own

I sit down with them

And take from them

Whatever they offer

Thorns and roses

Everyone is hugged

Because I know only if I hug my memories they will come back with a gay

And if I resist them

They will never let me make my hay

My companions wait to see me goodbye

And off I spiral back to my boat

Feeling lighter in body

But full in words

Back to the boat

I sit soaked in the sun

To vaporize any memories

I may have left unturned

now I plan to dive again

And use intellect in the game

Carefully I’ll dissect

My beliefs and whatever the world has said

Because I have learned

Fact and truth are not the same

And even my truth and yours may not be the same

If one feels lonely while writing that means he is in bad company. And this is one companion who is here to stay. You can avoid it, suppress it under intoxicants and entertainment, denigrate it but it will never leave.

And it is also the one who will definitely be with you in the end.

So at least during writing take out your mask and play. Make love, fight, engage in any way you think it’s possible. You have seen some creation through the outward eyes. Time to turn your vision inward and see through the source of creation. Once with creativity, you are never alone.

Did I give you any answers to not feel lonely while writing? probably none. But maybe I made you notice your inseparable friend.

Anything leading us to truth should be embraced. Writing using our intellect enriched in emotions is one way.

Do I want the world to notice my writing? why not? In a world concealed under layers of delusion, nakedness stands out.

Do I want me to notice myself, listen to it, brawl with it? definitely yes.

And what better than to do it on a piece of paper.

--

--