Clients of the only Russian cryocompany speak about life in the anticipation of resurrection pt.2

CryoGen
Cryogen
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2017

I am a History teacher by trade and I have been engaged in various activities in my life, mostly business. Now I am a СEO of a small IT company, but most of my life is occupied with public activities in the transhumanist movement. In fact, this is my main job. I am interested in the further development of this movement, in the creation of new organizations to make it all more and more demanded. I wish as many people as possible learned about transhumanism, immortalism, cryonics and made their choice.

I have a metal badge with my name, phone of the cryocompany and a brief instruction concerning what to do in case of my death in Russian and English on it. This is not a crucifix, of course, but a kind of insurance, so I always try to put it on when I go out into the street.

I am engaged in cryonics for a long time. About 10 years ago I learned that such company had been established in the USA. When information about the only Russian cryocompany appeared in Moscow, I put it down. Initially, I was going to get a contract for myself. It happened that I had asked the cryocompany about the preservation of my mother’s body. At that time, she had been suffering from cancer for several years. Despite the best doctors and several surgeries, nothing had helped. When the most unfavorable predictions had been made, I asked for cryopreservation.

My mother has become the 17th cryopatient in Russia.

Two years later I signed a contract for myself. There is a myth that if you sign the contract, then you will be immediately preserved. In fact, many people contract for the future, it’s such an option of advanced insurance. From the legal point of view, this kind of contract is considered as a scientific research contract, a long-term scientific experiment that allows acting in accordance with the Russian laws.

I began to think seriously about death when I was 25 and by age of 29, I have finally defined my attitude on this subject. I am a materialistic agnostic and don’t accept comfort options for the masses about the kingdom of heaven or about human memory. No way you’ll be remembered — come on, try to name the ministers of the Soviet or tsar period. The leaders of the state and some famous characters like Mata Hari or Rasputin will be remembered at best. Unfortunately, many worthy people, scientists, entrepreneurs, artists are forgotten.

Of course, I realize my mortality and consider various aspects of this phenomenon, but these thoughts don’t hold on to me and I’m not in the constant fear. I am confident that I have some information about the future and prospects for me in this future. In accordance with this knowledge, I’m trying to build my life. I don’t engage in dangerous and pointless things like extreme sports, lead a relatively healthy lifestyle and, if necessary, contact my doctor as soon as possible. It’s clear that this is not a panacea, but I’m doing my best. I believe that one’s life must be perceived as something which you are responsible for.

If we are talking about cryonics, it’s not just about a single thing. Cryonics is not just person’s desire to get some hope when one of his relatives got sick and turned to cryopreservation — it’s about changing the paradigms of thinking in relation to life.

The place of the human in the world as a cog in the machine is changing. There are more and more technologies that allow us to live longer, and maybe not die at all. There is a hope that young people who have signed a pact for cryopreservation will never use it because they will live till the moment when medicine and science will be capable to save everyone.

Taken from The Village (http://www.the-village.ru)
The translation of the article: Darya Goncharenko.

--

--