Theta & OKEx AMA Recap (14th July, 2020)

Kalpesh
Crypto Bharat
Published in
16 min readJul 18, 2020

🔷 Theta & OKEx AMA Recap🔷

We organized AMA successfully with Theta & OKEx teams on 14th of July, 2020 in our telegram community group.

Thank you to Wes Levitt for answering all the questions & thank you to Theta & OKEx teams for choosing Crypto Bharat for AMA. We look forward to collaborating more with you in the future.

Questions were submitted in our announcement tweet here — https://twitter.com/Crypto_Bharat/status/1282713776270258177 and questions were also asked on telegram by our community members.

Following is the transcript/recap of the AMA.

√π:

Hello everyone, glad to see you here in this online #OKEX&Theta MEET-UP, today we have 1 guest here, Wes Levitt, who is Head of Strategy at Theta labs. Let’s welcome him.

Wes Levitt ( @wlevitt ) please introduce yourself to the CryptoBharatCommunity.

Wes Levitt:

Hi everyone, thanks for hosting! I’m Wes Levitt, Head of Strategy at Theta Labs where we’ve developed and launched the Theta Network

Harshad Wagh:

We are Pleased to have you with us Wes 🙂

√π:

Thank you Wes ! Before we begin today’s meetup, please allow me to introduce today’s AMA FLOW. 🚀

PART 1

1.A :- We Admins from CB (CryptoBharat) Group will ask 3 questions (What we have collected from both OKEx and Crypto Bharat AKA Fcukta community) to THETA LABS (Group Will stay mute) and Wes Levitt will answer these questions.

1.B :- CB will Open Group For Public QnA Round (You can post your twitter Questions here too) for 2 minutes (Be ready and active ).

PART 2.

2.A :- Introduction about OKEx exclusive offers for CB Group members only. I will introduce to you about how to participate in OKEX & Theta exclusive offers to win the double reward for group members only.

Also tonight we will issue $Theta bonus worth 50U $Theta in three times,In order to give back to everyone’s enthusiastic participation, send “I love OKEx! I love Theta!” in the group, I will first send theta reward of 50U. More rewards are still behind. 🚀

Now I’ll unmute the group for 1 minute to get the message , be ready 😎

Conan:

I love OKEx! I love Theta

Shailesh 🇮🇳:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

★★Harsh Vaidya★★:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Theta(θ) aka R@ghav:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

ganesh ram:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

🅁🅄🅂🅃🄰🄼 🄰🄻🄸:

I love okex

Aditya Aryan:

I love OKEx! I love Theta

Mít Tơ Trader:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

🅁🅄🅂🅃🄰🄼 🄰🄻🄸:

I love theta

Rameshwar:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Ross:

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

Dr John:

I love oke i love theta

Won-Won:

I love OKEx! I love Theta

✪ᑕᗩᑭᎢᗩᏆᑎ ᗩᗰᗴᖇᏆᑕᗩ👑:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

🅷🅸🆃🅻🅴🆁🅺🅸🅻🅻🅴🆁:

I Love OKEx

Dr John:

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

Cool Hi:

I love OKEx! I love Theta

Saurabh:

I love OKEx! I love Theta!

🅁🅄🅂🅃🄰🄼 🄰🄻🄸:

I love okex i love theta

Mít Tơ Trader:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Nikhil Phafat:

I love Okex

Dr John:

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

✪ᑕᗩᑭᎢᗩᏆᑎ ᗩᗰᗴᖇᏆᑕᗩ👑:

I Love OKEx

Mít Tơ Trader:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Shuvo SD:

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

Love BTC:

I love OKEx! I love Theta

Mít Tơ Trader:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

🅷🅸🆃🅻🅴🆁🅺🅸🅻🅻🅴🆁:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Ambani Ji:

I love okex ! I love theta

Nikhil Phafat:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Mít Tơ Trader:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

🌀Tài • Sky 🇻🇳:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Mít Tơ Trader:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Dede Mahendra || RocketRacoonID:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Nikhil Phafat:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Dede Mahendra || RocketRacoonID:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

🌀Tài • Sky 🇻🇳:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

🅁🅄🅂🅃🄰🄼 🄰🄻🄸:

I love OKEx! I love Theta!

✪ᑕᗩᑭᎢᗩᏆᑎ ᗩᗰᗴᖇᏆᑕᗩ👑:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Adnan Rivaldi ramadhan 🕵:

I love OKEx! I love Theta

Dede Mahendra || RocketRacoonID:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Yuqol prodan:

I loke okex i love theta

Hayasabun Official:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Adnan Rivaldi ramadhan 🕵:

I love OKEx! I love Theta

Junkie Virus:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Serg:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Dr John:

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

𝔞𝔪₿𝔢𝔯:

I love OKEx! I love Theta

Crypto:

I LOVE YOU SO MUCH, THETA

✪ᑕᗩᑭᎢᗩᏆᑎ ᗩᗰᗴᖇᏆᑕᗩ👑:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Ivan Letov:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Hasta La Vasta:

I love okex i love Netflix

✪ᑕᗩᑭᎢᗩᏆᑎ ᗩᗰᗴᖇᏆᑕᗩ👑:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Siddhesh Sawant:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Sonia:

“I love OKEx! I love Theta!”

Genki Suzuki:

start the ama man, i want to know when thetatv on samsung daily

✪ᑕᗩᑭᎢᗩᏆᑎ ᗩᗰᗴᖇᏆᑕᗩ👑:

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

I love OKEx!I love Theta!

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

√π:

That’s great guy’s , huge response from you all.

Now I’m going to send you Red Package Link and we’ll give you another 1 minute to click and claim successfully .

Ready !!

https://www.okex.com/share/OG2GBm7pQVI0J

Go 🚀

OKEx is a very famous international exchange, we have been looking forward to knowing OKEX , i am really excited to share detailed introduction with our members. Lets see this video first.

@Tiger7 request you to upload video thanks.

Wow, thats amazing! So i understand, Compared with local exchanges in India, such as WazirX, Bitbns, CoinDCX,OKEx is one of the world’s top 3 cryptocurrency exchanges with unique features.

Harshad Wagh:

That’s right! OKEx is a very famous international exchange, we have been looking forward to knowing OKEx with the following prominent advantages:

1. Asset Security: We do our utmost to ensure the safety of user assets, and no security incident has ever occurred.

2. Compliance License: Possess compliance licenses from the United States, Japan, and Singapore.

3. Leading Technology: 7 years of rich experience, advanced industry technology, perfect and smooth trading experience.

4. Full Range of Products: Support spot and derivatives trading, on chain wallets, mining pools. Your entry into the world of cryptocurrencies.

5. Worldwide Customer Base: Full range of cryptocurrency services for users from over 130 countries around the world.

√π:

With this said on Okex , I got a good news from OKEX.

Since the lifting of the cryptocurrency ban in March in the Indian market, there has been a continuous increase of traffic flow and trading volume from Indian users on OKEx.

Okex contacts us to show their program of regional & jointed AMA in the next six months. This time, they wanna hear about our voice and design AMA exclusive for Indian users only!

Please select your interests of projects that AMA is jointed by voting on a Poll

Thanks for your active participation guys !!!!

Poll be here in group please make sure to cast your vote Now let’s move on to Admins Question Round.

We Admin will ask few questions after that group will be unmuted for 2 minutes to take questions from community .

@wlevitt Please introduce Theta Network to our Crypto Bharat community members. 😊

Wes Levitt:

Theta Network is a decentralized video delivery network, powered by users, built on the Theta blockchain. Users can earn token rewards for using their excess bandwidth to share video streams with other users nearby. Video platforms that integrate Theta Network benefit by reducing their video delivery (CDN) costs and attracting new and more engaged users. Theta blockchain is already integrated in our first-party video platform https://www.theta.tv/, and is in development with several other video platforms

√π:

That’s Great ! Now let’s have Next Question , Guys make sure to vote 😉 the poll

How are your current partners like Google, Binance, Blockchain Ventures participating in $Theta Network? @wlevitt

Wes Levitt:

Those partners are participating in block production and governance of the Theta Network by running an Enterprise Validator Nodes. Currently, there are Google, Blockchain Ventures, Binance, gumi Cryptos, and Theta Labs, and several more major enterprises are in the process of joining. Typically these validator nodes are strategic partners of the project — for example, with Gumi Cryptos we’ve signed a new business development agreement to work together introducing Theta technology to Japanese media companies. And they will also guide Theta through the Japan Financial Services Agency’s regulatory process for approving new crypto assets. Our most recent partnership, Google Cloud is also now Theta’s preferred cloud provider, and users around the world will have the ability to deploy and run Theta nodes directly from Google Cloud Marketplace (GCP Marketplace) with just a few clicks, and we’re working on more ways to integrate Theta as part of their service offerings

Harshad Wagh:

Thanks for wonderfully answering the above question @wlevitt ,

Here comes the next question which i am sure you will be happy and proud to answer:

What was the most significant outcome after your main net 2.0 launch?

Wes Levitt:

The recent Theta Mainnet 2.0 launch has been a huge success, with the codebase forking to Mainnet 2.0 code without a hitch, and widespread coverage of the launch partnership with Google Cloud. What is most important for the long-term is that Guardian Node staking is now live on mainnet, which brings in the Theta community to create a truly decentralized Theta Network. There are now more than 1,200 community-run Guardian Nodes that are taking the next step in operating and governing the Theta Network and this number is only growing. We see one node from Mumbai, India currently but would like to see many more!

As Theta continues to develop and focus on decentralization as a core goal for 2020, Guardian Nodes will have a say in the governance of the protocol itself, voting on whether to approve code upgrades, design changes, and the way nodes operate and earn rewards. We trust that the Theta community will continue to take a greater role in the development of Theta Network, and will make the right decisions to ensure Theta becomes the leading blockchain protocol for video and data delivery.

Harshad Wagh:

Wow that is so impressive on Theta’s part and as well as to theblockchain community.

Now the most asked question:

We are very excited to know

What is your goal for 2020?

√π:

Guy’s be ready after this question group will be unmuted .

In order to better answer the questions for our members, we will unmute the channel for 2 minutes, and all of you can ask any questions( Twitter included also ). After the questions are asked, we will mute the group again and answer the questions asked. Also, OKEX & $Theta offers 50U OKB reward for members who asked the questions. Don’t hold back your questions! 🚀

Wes Levitt:

Our goal for 2020 is to drive wide adoption of Theta Network by video platforms in U.S. and Asia regions, including our streamlined THETA Live Embed product launched earlier this year. We are in development with platforms that will give Theta Network video delivery exposure to millions of monthly users and allow them to earn TFUEL token rewards for using the network, and we continue to add sites embedding THETA.tv every week, exposing crypto rewards to more mainstream users. The launch of Guardian Nodes run by the Theta community and additional Enterprise Validator Nodes will also get Theta to a fully decentralized state for staking and governance in 2020.

√π:

I’m extremely bullish in THETA i must say now 🚀

So guys are you all ready to bombard the group with your questions !

Harshad Wagh:

Looks like a well planned roadmap and easily achievable for the talented Theta Team 👏

(Group was unmuted to accept questions from the community. Our community members submitted 400+ questions for Theta. Wes Levitt answered 19 of the questions.)

√π:

@wlevitt over to you now you can pick the questions you’d like to answer . 😊

𝔞𝔪₿𝔢𝔯:

Some months has passed since the launch of the mainnet 2.0. Are you satisfied with the interest of miners/developers / traders in Theta ? How different is this from your expectations and what are you mostly proud of ?

Wes Levitt:

We definitely would like to see more community devs, check out the Theta hackathon if you want to join: https://theta-labs.devpost.com/

Crypto Boy:

, What’s the difference between Enterprise Validator node vs Guardian node? What are the economic incentives for each and is there a non-custodial delegation mechanism on Theta?

Wes Levitt:

You can find more info here: https://medium.com/theta-network/theta-guardian-node-staking-will-go-live-on-theta-mainnet-2-0-on-wednesday-june-3rd-e70fb8dcf9b3

Alice:

Theta is a promising platform, how long do you think it will take to reach mass adoption? Features like the preinstalled app in the new samsungs will definitely shorten that time, do you have similar partnerships coming, What are your marketing strategies?

Wes Levitt:

I think we’re getting closer to seeing crypto becoming a normal feature in consumer apps, though we are still a long way away from the average user dealing with private keys and wallets, in fact most may never want that! But blockchain will power apps they use even if they don’t realize it

cryptominer_9899:

What are the biggest obstacles to your project when you implement it to the real world, and what is your plan on overcome these problems ?

Wes Levitt:

The biggest problem is crypto is still in a difficult legal/regulatory state and many corporations are skeptical or think it’s too much trouble, also the 2017/2018 hype cycle did lasting reputational damage and many think it’s still all a scam

Serg:

What new features are available after launching mainnet 2.0? How many guardian nodes do you plan to achieve before the end of 2020?

Wes Levitt:

Staking is now live on mainnet, and since we already hit 1,200 GNs I hope 2,000 is in reach by end of the year!

Ivan Letov:

How will you deal with inappropriate content and plagiarism on the Theta platform? Who makes the vote?

Wes Levitt:

Theta Network is infrastructure, so it doesn’t directly moderate content. Platforms that adopt Theta network can each have their own moderation policies (or not have one at all), that’s is up to them

Chiika:

There are so many online video industry all around the internet What is the benefit when watching videos through theta.tv? How does it compare from other video streaming platforms?

Wes Levitt:

The biggest difference is you get directly rewarded for your network contributions, so you share in the benefits of the platform

Hasta La Vasta:

Why should we use Theta over Netflix @wlevitt

Wes Levitt:

Ideally, we’d like to see you use Theta WITH Netflix — it’s technology that can benefit Netflix, not a competitor

Aluta Continua Victoria Ascerta:

Next generation video delivery powered by you, with emphasis on YOU? How do you aim to overcome blockchain illiteracy to achieve this goal

We are living in the advent of 5G NETWORK, HOW DOES 5G NETWORK SUPPORT THE THETA PROJECT

Wes Levitt:

We try to solve this by making Theta adoption simple for any user, where they can see the benefits of token rewards even if they aren’t ready yet to control their own keys, understand the complicated technical side, etc.

5G will benefit Theta in that there has yet to be a killer use case for 5G’s extremely fast upload speeds — since most users download much more than upload. Sharing video via Theta could be that 1st use case for very fast 5G upload

Dede Mahendra || RocketRacoonID:

Currently YouTube and Twitch dominate the streaming market, but I would like you to give us your vision of what would be the incentives to migrate to Theta from a commercial, economic point of view?

Wes Levitt:

The biggest gain for streamers/content creators is they can earn much more in TFUEL donations and keep their fanbase engaged, instead of the 1-way Twitch model!

dhuk naka:

How are you going to make it possible to track every copyright transaction? Will you support the creators when other people make fake copyright claims unlike other platforms?

Wes Levitt:

In some cases this isn’t necessary, but we are working on DRM solutions for potential partners we’re talking with that have this concern. One solution would be to issue an NFT to valid users that proves they are a legitimate consumer (i.e. didn’t pirate the content)

Chiika:

Having seen some huge partnerships being solidified with the likes of Samsung,GFuelEnergy,WPT, etc. what other types of partnerships can we expect Theta Network to pursue next ? Will Theta think outside the box and target a diverse range of partners ?

Wes Levitt:

We definitely keep an open mind, but want to make sure they are also furthering our goal of getting Theta adopted for video delivery

Cool Hi:

What is the roadmap for the next six and twelve months? The Covid-19 pandemic and global crisis is very complex , how will it affect Theta development plan? What is the future direction of this project?

Wes Levitt:

Our roadmap is largely intact since we can work remotely, but we’re releasing an update to the roadmap this week that will adjust some items to how Theta has changed in the last 6 months

Chiika:

The ethereum platform has seen enormous growth recently due to #Defi. What types of potential use cases do you see for smart contracts on the #Theta network to be able to compete or trigger a similar result ? How many devs are currently working on the theta network ?

Wes Levitt:

We see smart contracts among other things as a tool for streaming platforms to make more complex ways to allocate TFUEL rewards to fit their business models, since each platform is different whether ad powered, subscription, etc. There are about 12 devs working on it at Theta Labs, plus more community developers starting to build the ecosystem all the time

henry pok:

Technology is changing every second, so are you afraid that recent projects with new technologies will become a serious competitor For Theta Platfrom? What is the thing that you has has that other projects don’t yet have?

Wes Levitt:

That’s always going to be true in tech field, we just need to focus on making the most valuable solution in video streaming

Matvey:

Can you give some examples of which projects that we can see will come out of the THETA protocol in the future? When can we see 100% decentralized Netflix? )

Wes Levitt:

We are working on building out the Theta Edge Node so that you can stream 100% decentralized, no reliance on CDNs! This will be a key product for 2020

Mít Tơ Trader:

Q: How do you think with Asia? Does Theta_Network team have any plan approach VietNam which the potential market in crypto, there have many great teams and investors want work and earn money from crypto?

Wes Levitt:

Yes, streaming is growing very fast throughout Asia and many countries have a forward-thinking regulatory attitude toward blockchain (perhaps more so than the U.S.) so we see it as a very strategic area. We are focusing much of our BD efforts and listing on new exchanges in Asia, and the team plans to return once we can travel again after COVID!

Nazmud Sadat:

How will Theta attract content consumers — not just content producers — to the platform? What incentives are in place so that viewers of material will want to come to Theta more than established sources like Youtube, Instagram etc.

Wes Levitt:

The direct incentive is that users can earn token rewards in a way that’s not possible on existing platforms. Indirectly, when streamers are earning more for their content, they start coming over and can draw users as well. For example, Chico Crypto just did his first livestream on THETA.tv on last Saturday

Genki Suzuki:

when will Allen Day, Developer Advocate for Google Cloud write more about theta partnership? when will thetatv show up on samsung daily as we waited for 2 months already. when roadmap.

Wes Levitt:

Hopefully soon as we are actively working with Allen on more Theta integrations with Google Cloud. At the time of our partnership, GC was 100% focused on COVID efforts on their blog so they were holding all space for that. Samsung Daily will be on their schedule, unfortunately we can’t share any public info on that per Samsung’s request

√π:

This evening the response we had is tremendous but due to time constraint we will move towards next part of our AMA

You all can ask your queries here on THETA group .

https://t.me/thetanetwork

Maybe our users are not very familiar with OKEx, Harshad ( @Tiger7 ),can you tell us how to participate in the activity to get rewards?

Harshad Wagh:

Of course, I will introduce it in detail Steps :-

• Click on the registration link (https://www.okex.com/join/2015948246).

You will see OKEx more detailed page.

• Click “sign up” button on the top-right corner to reach the register page. You can register through E-mail or Phone, then a 6-digit code will be sent systematically, fill in the right number, then you will complete the registration.

√π:

It’s very simple, I believe everyone can easily do it,right?😅

Harshad Wagh:

Haha yes one of the easiest exchange out there

√π:

So how do we buy THETA on OKEX next ? I have always been a big fan of $THETA, it is very popular recently.

Harshad Wagh:

Sure. Theta is indeed a very good investment choice

• Click “Buy/ Sell” or “Trade” on the top menu bar, search tokens and click to buy/trade. You will see the real time price of theta in your purchase form. The system will automatically compute the dollar of your theta. Please transfer your assets to spot account in advance for later purchase. Click the purchase button, you will get your theta. If you net buy (buy-sell) 20$ or more theta, you will get 6$ theta reward in return. This is equivalent to a 30% return on investment.

• Not only stopping on 6$. We actually prepare double reward, that is 12$ reward, for our group members. It needs only two more steps, Join here https://t.me/starprojectindia to complete KYC2 verification and get 12$ reward on total.

√π:

Guys Join here to complete the KYC2 Verification.

https://t.me/starprojectindia

Wow, this is great. So is 6U $THETA counted as OKEx gift to our Crypto Bharat community group members?

Harshad Wagh:

Haha, yes, but it is only part of it.If you complete KYC2 verification , your reward will be doubled, which is 12U THETA

Login to your account, and click “KYC Verification” under your profile icon. There are three 3 verification levels in total, each contains different information requirements and 24h withdrawal limits. Enter your individual information to pass the KYC 2 verification. You will get double theta reward if you successfully pass the verification.

√π:

Stay tuned guys a surprise is upcoming 😉

Harshad Wagh:

*We will distribute the rewards to the accounts of users who have met the conditions within 10 working days after the event ends.

√π:

So, it is really Good rewards only for our group members, that is to say, if I complete the above steps, I can get 12$ $THETA rewards,I can’t wait to get a reward. Although I already have an OKEx account, I can use my families 😅

Here comes the surprise guys

In order to appreciate our members support, You can share $THETA asset(more than 20$ )screenshots to the group.

When there are more than 30 screenshots in the group, we will send a 300 $THETA reward again.

Registration link :- https://www.okex.com/join/2015948246

Thanks to OKEx friends and everyone for their enthusiastic participation, the AMA tonight ends here. All winning users will have a staff member to chat with you privately, and the reward will be sent to everyone’s account within 5–10 working days. 🚀 👍

Crypto Boy:

Nice ama

√π:

Great ❤️❤️

Harshad Wagh:

Special Thanks to @wlevitt for answering the questions about Theta so Aesthetically and in understandable manner. It was indeed a memorable session for us tonight.😊

Wes Levitt:

Thanks for hosting us and for all the great questions from everyone! Make sure to check us out at www.thetanetwork.org

∑ Sigma ® ||:

Nice AMA guys

Junkie Virus:

We did it again guys, thanks for your participation

Ambani Ji:

Cbt at its best

🤟🤟🤟

Feedback and comments are always welcome 😊

Compiled by- twitter.com/KalpeshEm for the Crypto Bharat Community.

Follow Crypto_Bharat on Twitter.

--

--