Why Many Crypto Devs And Teams Are Anonymous

After reading this, you would want to stay anonymous if you were a dev (my opinion/educated guess)

Aziz Patrawala
Crypto Universe
2 min readDec 19, 2021

--

As more and more crypto projects pop up, more and more devs and team members choose to be anonymous.

Here's why I think devs in real crypto projects that arent rugs choose to stay anonymous.

  1. Hate mail from the community during bad market times. Have you ever looked in a telegram or discord chat of a coin that was dropping in price because the rest of the market was dropping and see the community making all sorts of threats to the devs even though the devs probably has nothing to do with it? I have, and let me tell you, if I was a dev, I would stay anonymous too because I don't want people to be able to send shit like that to me. What if these “internet gladiators” start sending things to my family like death threats etc? One search on Instagram or Facebook and you can see everyone's friends and family. The next thing you know your kid, or grandma is getting hate mail.
  2. They can't control market circumstances and whales pumping and dumping coins and the community and others may associate those pump and dumps with their name.(even if they ha nothing to do with it)
  3. Trouble from regulatory services. We all know that not everyone likes crypto, and if you are a dev or a non-anonymous person on a team, who do you think is going to have to be the spokesperson and the person who has to deal with all the legalities. The anonymous people(s) no one knows? or the public not anonymous dev?

Anyway, those are a couple of reasons why I think devs stay anonymous. If you wonder why they stay anonymous, put yourself in their shoes, and imagine if any of the above happened to you. Would you want to be anonymous? I know I would if I were a dev or team member.

Cheers!

Thanks so much for reading my article, I hoped you enjoyed reading it and found it somewhat eye-opening. If you did enjoy the article be sure to give the article a clap(s) and follow me as doing so helps me grow as a writer which helps me share my work with more people which in return helps more people.

Like what you are reading? Consider upgrading and becoming a Medium Member so you can view unlimited stories from me and many other writers. Using the link above to buy your membership provides no extra cost to you and supports me as I get a portion of the membership fee.

Photo by Tarik Haiga on Unsplash

--

--

Aziz Patrawala
Crypto Universe

Empowering you to have success, but also happiness and fulfillment