Introducing Crypto.com/NFT

Steven Kalifowitz
Crypto.com NFT
Published in
4 min readMar 24, 2021
First drop coming Friday, March 26: BossLogic’s “Greater Heights”

We’re proud to announce the official launch of Crypto.com NFT! NFTs have been on a stellar rise, emerging as a powerful new medium for artists, celebrities, athletes, and teams to connect with fans and collectors. Our mission is to accelerate the world’s transition to cryptocurrency, and NFTs are the natural next step.

We’ve curated an A-list roster of mainstream and digital artists. Launch partners include: Snoop Dogg, BossLogic, Boy George, Klarens Malluta with Lionel Richie, Axel Mansoor (the King Of The Clubhouse), Bag Raiders, Jonathan Monaghan with Nathan Evans (of #1 single Sea Shanty ‘Wellerman’ fame), KCamp, KLOUD, and Mr. Brainwash, among others.

The first drop will take place on Friday 26 March, featuring a new collection by famed Marvel artist, BossLogic.

Commenting on the launch, BossLogic said: “I’m grateful to have the opportunity to collaborate with Crypto.com. Having been an avid user of their platform it’s kind of surreal I got to be part of their next step into the new era of art and NFT’s. Stay tuned for my exclusive drop and some major collaborations.”

Don’t miss a drop. Sign up now: Crypto.com/NFT

In the world of sport, Crypto.com and Aston Martin Cognizant Formula One are partnering to introduce NFTs, a first for an F1 team. The NFTs will be available on Sunday 28 March, as the team returns to F1 after more than 60 years, to compete in the first race of 2021.

Jefferson Slack, Managing Director — Commercial & Marketing, Aston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team, said: “As a modern organisation with a strong heritage, we’re excited to be the first Formula 1 team to offer a new way for our fans to own a piece of our history. The collection of NFTs we’re making available capture the very first moments of our return to F1 after more than six decades.”

“Technology and creativity are indispensable to each other,” offered the enigmatic artist Mr. Brainwash in regards to his drop. “Look deep into technology and you’ll understand everything better.”

KCamp Said: “On the anniversary of putting out ‘Lottery’ and how crazy that song went thanks to Jalaiah who created the Renegade dance and the fans that turned it into a global phenomenon, I wanted to do something to show how powerful it is when fans and artists connect to move culture.

Releasing this NFT to celebrate the song is only a part of what I’ve got in store…”

Boy George’s drop unleashes his creativity and brings together animated and still versions of his own paintings together with his iconic music, representing the full breadth of his artistic output.

Commenting on his NFT debut, Boy George said: “I think life turned me into art. My role models were both artistic types and hard working types. I’ve painted myself and others. I have painted myself into a corner. I love metaphors and mystery and crypto sound like klepto so that makes me a crypto maniac. Art is like a partner? Can you live with it? Digital art is a new emotion and it can be very musical. I’m mixing all of the things I do together, music, art, fashion, poetry and anything else it leads to. I have stopped refusing to be influenced.”

Axel Mansoor Said: “From live-streaming to AR/VR and drop-in audio, I’ve always loved exploring how new technologies can change the way that my music is experienced. I often ask myself, “how can I use tech to create intimacy at scale?” Technology is at its best when it’s helping us connect to each other in innovative ways, and NFTs are a super exciting way to forge deeper bonds with my supporters.”

To lead the new venture, Crypto.com recently appointed Joe Conyers III as EVP, Global Head of NFTs. About the launch Conyers said: “I am thrilled to work with remarkable talent around the world and partner with them to shape the future of this new creative medium. We are looking forward to being a thoughtful curator and innovator, connecting fans and collectors with amazing content creators. We will be looking out for creators and curators with bold vision who are working to push the boundaries of the medium and bring more collectors into the space.”

We look forward to seeing the amazing power of NFTs and what the community can do. If you are a creator we would love to hear from you and see your amazing work. If you love supporting NFT’s we would love to hear your ideas for ways to make our platform the best in the world.

--

--